While you are online with Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online for Microsoft Office Outlook, changes you make to tracked records in Outlook or Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online are visible to others as soon as you save the record. Changes that others make to Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online are visible to you after they save the record. Changes that others make to records you are tracking in Outlook may not be visible in Outlook for up to 15 minutes.
For example, you create a contact in Outlook, and track it. All the other online users will be able to view it in Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online when it is saved. If another user changes the contact in Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online, then it could take up to 15 minutes for you to see the change in the Outlook contact, however if you chose to "View in CRM" you would see the change immediately.
If you are working offline, your changes are "stored" in your local data, which was updated when you went offline. Changes you make to tracked records in Outlook are also made in your local copy of the corresponding record. When you go back online, your changes are made to the Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online server and visible to everyone and the current data is available to you.
The Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online address book is synchronized separately and on a different schedule.
You can set synchronization options so that incoming and outgoing Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online e-mail that is associated with a Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online account is recognized as an e-mail activity.
Also, you can track messages and records in Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online by linking the record to a Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online record. The process of linking a record is as simple as selecting one or more records, clicking a button on the toolbar, and then selecting a related account or contact. You can select an option to change the message icon to indicate a tracked record. You can link a record at any time and all replies to linked e-mail messages are also tracked. Tracked e-mail messages, contacts, tasks, and appointments are updated to Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online immediately while you are online. If you are offline, these items are updated in your local data and will be synchronized with the Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online server when you go back online.
You can also set up your contact options to copy all your selected contacts from the Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online server into your Outlook Contacts folder.
More information: Set Personal Options
If you have Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online for Outlook with Offline Access you can work offline with a pre-defined set of Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online data that is on your computer. This is your local data and what data is copied is defined in a local data group. Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online for Outlook updates your local data every time that you go offline and every time that you go back online. You can update your Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online information by connecting to the Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online server either where you have high-speed network access (high bandwidth), such as at your office, or through a dial-up modem account, such as in your hotel room when you are traveling.
Updating your local data when you go offline or online can take an extended period of time. To go online and offline more quickly, you can turn on an option to update local data in the background. After you manually synchronize the first time, when you are online your business's Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online data updates your Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online for Outlook local data on a regular schedule, also typically every 15 minutes, or on a schedule your system administrator sets up. You can set your personal options to synchronize your local data with Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online more frequently.
If you synchronize your data regularly, either by manually synchronizing or setting your options to synchronize your offline data periodically in the background while you are online, you can make sure that you have up-to-date information and you can reduce the synchronization time.
More information: Set Personal Options
This address book is synchronized with Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online automatically when you start Outlook and then once every 24 hours. If you make changes or additions to the address book that you need to access immediately, you can start a manual synchronization.
More information: Synchronize Data
To prevent data loss, when you go offline Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online synchronizes data from the server to your local data, and then applies all of your changes to the server. All server transactions post completely before records are erased from your local data.
If you create a record offline that is identified by the system as a possible duplicate, you can set whether or not to create a duplicate record.
When you run a synchronization process, Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online overwrites existing information without verifying or comparing the last saved date. For example, if you changed a record a week ago but do not synchronize that record, and then someone else changes that same record earlier today and you run a synchronization process in the afternoon, your changes will overwrite the other person's even though your changes are older. However, if you and another user change different data, both changes are saved. For example, if you have a customer named Jeff Smith, and you change his first name to John, and another user changes his last name to Rodman, when you both synchronize your data, the customer's name becomes John Rodman.