General Interest

Posting, following, and unfollowing in Yammer

As you use Yammer to collaborate with colleagues, there are a few things to keep in mind. The two most important interactions you’ll have are making posts and following other users and records. To do this, you have to log in to both Yammerand Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online, you need adequate permissions for what you’re trying to follow, and the record type has to be enabled. You’ll typically be able to log in to Yammer once and stay logged in whenever you log in to your system again—just make sure that the email address you use to log in to Yammer is one of the email addresses you have in your Microsoft Dynamics CRM Online user records. If you need updated permissions or you need a record type to be enabled, talk to your system administrator.

Some key considerations when using Yammer:

  • Conversations. These function in familiar ways—you can always start a thread or reply to one right in your main work area. If there are conversations happening on a given record wall, this tab displays by default. You can address a thread to all of your colleagues or to the colleagues in a specific group. Keep in mind that you won’t be able to post to whole groups of colleagues from a given record’s wall, although you’ll be able to do this from the main What’s New wall.

  • System posts. You won’t be able to reply to system posts. They’re there to keep you up to date. Keep in mind that records you create may appear in your Yammer account records and indicate that you’re following the record, even if you have not explicitly followed the record. You can ignore this behavior.

  • Following. Any time you see a record or user that you have sufficient permissions to follow, you’ll see a Follow button at the top of the page. Select this and you’ll see posts pertaining to that record or user. If your default form-viewing mode is set to Edit Mode, you’ll see a Follow or Unfollow button to the right of the form.

  • Who can see your posts. If you create a post without specifying which group of colleagues will see it, by default, all of your colleagues will be able to see it. If you want to control who can see a post, to the right of the text field for the post, next to Post to, choose the drop-down menu and select a specific group of people.

    See Also